Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox. … Swipe left on the conversation you’d like to archive.
Does the other person know if you archive a chat in Messenger?
For both delete and archive, when the other person messages you, the message will appear in your inbox and you will be notified about it like any other message. … However, in case of the archive, the previous messages will still be there, but the chat thread will be empty for deleted messages.
When you archive a chat does the other person know?
Archiving a conversation is only done on your account but not on the other account so the other party won’t know nor can notice.
Do you still get messages if you archived chats?
Can You Receive Messages from Archived Chats. Yes. Once you archive a chat, it merely hides it from the main view and nothing else. So if you receive new messages in the archived chat, you will be notified about it, and the same conversation thread will reappear in the main list.
How do you know if you’ve been archived on Messenger?
Using the mobile app
- Open the Messenger app and tap your profile picture in the top-left corner.
- In the list of options, select Archived chats. You’ll find “Archived chats” with the other app options. …
- You’ll see a list of all your archived conversations.
What is the point of archiving?
The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.
What is the purpose of archive in Messenger?
Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox.
Can you delete archived messages on Messenger?
Open the Messenger app and tap your profile photo at the top left. Go to “Archived chats”. To get rid of an archived chat, press and hold (long-press) the particular chat and select “Delete”. Tap on Delete again to delete the archived conversation forever.
What does archived chat mean?
The archive chat feature allows you to hide an individual or group chat from your chats list to better organize your conversations. Note: Archiving a chat doesn’t delete the chat or back it up to your SD card. … You will not receive notifications for archived chats unless you are mentioned or replied to.
Can archived chats See you online?
It also doesn’t have any effect on your online status – all archived chats will still show if you’re online. Nevertheless, it’s two-way secrecy: there’s also no way to know if someone else archived your chat.
What is the meaning of unarchive?
Unarchive is a term used to describe the process of restoring files from an archive (compressed file) or backup to their original location, usually a hard drive.
Where do archived Facebook posts go?
When you archive a post, it will go to a special “Archive” section of your Facebook Activity Log. This allows you to view the posts you’ve archived, even though no one else can.
Can you hide a Messenger conversation?
Tap on the Messages icon, which appears as two speech bubbles. Find the conversation you want to hide and swipe left on it. This will provide you with some choice options. Tap on Archive to hide the messages.