Frequent question: What does it mean to restrict an account on Instagram?

Instagram is rolling out a new mode called “Restrict” that will let account owners effectively shadow ban a user who comments on photos with offensive or abusive language. … Any attempt to send a direct message will move to a message request, according to Instagram, and notifications won’t be sent.

What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?

Restrict is a new privacy feature in Instagram. Once you restrict someone, their comments on your Instagram posts will only be visible to them (and not publicly). If you want, you can view their comment using the “See Comment” button.

Does someone know if you restrict them on Instagram?

While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.

Can restricted accounts see your story?

Restricting an account lets you limit interactions with the user without blocking or unfollowing them. This is more helpful to limit interactions on posts, since restricted users will still be able to see your Stories.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I turn off Facebook browser on my Iphone?

Does restricting someone on Instagram hide your posts?

When you restrict someone, they will be able to see your posts/stories, comment on it but it will be hidden from your profile. When you’re limiting contact or a follower, you’re just doing it for the sake of avoiding unwanted conversations which otherwise you had to face when you’re blocking someone.

Does restricting on Instagram unfollow?

Instagram allows users to restrict profiles they can’t unfollow or block. Restricting a profile allows users to block comments or DMs from a specific person.

Why did my boyfriend restrict me on Instagram?

If your partner blocks you on social media, it is usually because he/she does not want you to see what they are posting and doing while you are away. Whatever the reasoning, it would seem you may be headed towards a breakup. Do not tolerate disrespect in a relationship.

Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?

In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.

Categories SMM